WPF & MVVM: DataBinding UserControl Command to Parent DataContext

I had been struggling with figuring out how to make the my XAML databinding force the command of a user control be handled by the ViewModel of the parent window in which it is contained. In an effort to follow SRP I wanted the behavior of the ViewModel of the parent window to be more of a PageController and the ViewModel for each contained UserControl follow a more pure ViewModel pattern. I was fortunate to be in contact wtih Steven Robbins via twitter (@GrumpyDev) which lead me to discover the blog post, Wpf: Binding to parent property (RelativeSource Ancestor DataContext), by Jeffrey Knight (Twitter: @jeffreyknight).
 
You can download the sample scenario I created here.
Leave a Reply

