So long Skype; hello to GrandCentral?

I have had a Skype account and tried my best to get it working properly but there had been a stall where SkypeOut wasn’t available to Canadian numbers. I haven’t bothered following up with whether that issue has been resolved.

Yesterday I was invited to use Google’s recently purchased GrandCentral. In less than 3 minutes I had a US number local to a friend of min. He called me 5 minutes later. Worked awesome! Thanks Google and GrandCentral!

The price and credit system that exists in Skype doesn’t exist in GrandCentral. It worked on the first try; no money was exchanged; and the service is provided by a provider I trust to be around for a long time. Does this spell the end for Skype? For me it does.

Leave a Reply

