The saga to restore the Windows XP Logon screen (and fast user switching) after installing Linksys WUSB54GC

Synopsis: If you’ve recently installed the Linksys WUSB54GC usb wireless adapter, uninstall the software that came with the device and download/install the latest drivers from their website.
 
Here’s how the saga unfolded for me:
 
Instead of watching the third period of the season opening Edmonton Oilers hockey game last night, I spent it trying to figure out what was going wrong with my Dad’s computer after he installed a Linksys WUSB54GC. Some time after installing the software that states, "Install this software before connecting your device" and having the device function as expected, the Windows XP logon screen (the one with the icons) disappeared and the switch user option was no longer available.
 
My first instinct was to try and re-enable fast user switching through control panel (Start > Settings > Control Panel > User Accounts > Change the way users log on or off).
 
This presented me with an error message stating, "Automation server can’t create object" instead of showing me the expected screen. This lead me to investigate the Event Viewer where I found the following message message:
 
"Windows saved user ComputerNameUserName registry while an application or service was still using the registry during log off. The memory used by the user’s registry has not been freed. The registry will be unloaded when it is no longer in use. This is caused by services running as a user account, try configuring the services to run in either the LocalService or NetworkService account."
 
This lead me to the following Microsoft Knowledgebase article that instructed me to install the User Profile Hive Cleanup Service. This produced no effect, even after restarting the machine. *sigh* Okay… what’s next.
 
In researching the "Automation server can’t create object" message, there were recommendations like this to install Windows Script 5.6 for Windows XP and Windows 2000. This seemed a bit odd but, hey, it was from Microsoft’s site and I was missing seeing the best part of the hockey game.
 
Doing this appeared to do nothing. Fast switch still wasn’t working and the login screen still came up with the Ctrl+Alt+Del login form. *sigh* One more try at re-enabling fast switch through control panel. This time I received a message that a recently installed binary file, gtgina.dll, was causing the grief. Now I was getting somewhere. A quick google search indicated that the gtgina.dll was part of the software installed by from the linksys usb wireless adapter. *AHA* Now we’re getting somewhere. I called Linksys support. This is, apparently, a known issue. Resolution involves uninstalling their software and installing the latest drivers.
 
Impressions:
This was my first experience with Linksys devices. I wasn’t impressed. That’s one third period that I’ll never get back. Baring teeth
Leave a Reply

