Frederik de Groot says “Save your Money”

When I started in development I learned, very quickly, that what I learned in school was not even the tip of the iceberg. I have spent a number of years in development and found that working in a variety of environments with so many people with varying skillsets provided me an environment to learn, more and more, that I know less and less. In the past year I have found so much value in the events held by the Edmonton .NET User Group from the presentations and discussions with colleagues in different industries all focussing on different problems. This has, far and beyond the lists of books I have purchased and consumed over the past year, been the greatest value I have received in learning and growing as a developer.
 
Today marked the 1 year anniversary of the re-birth of the Edmonton .NET User Group. Donald Belcham, Justice Gray, Steven Rockarts, Steve Yang, and Brad Daoust have worked very hard and should take credit for builing what was (before its rebirth) a crowd of 5-10 people meeting once per month and growing the community participation to around 70 per meeting. Let alone that there is a continual stream of excellent speakers (including tonight’s speaker, Christinas Izquierdo of Iomer), the growth of the community has helped bring major industry events to Edmonton and has brought recognition to developers in Edmonton. This is no small feat and I’d like to thank them all for the effort they have put in.
 
Over the past year I have only missed 2 of the events put on by EDMUG and I plan to ensure that I do what I can to help support this group as I have gained so much from being involved. The price is amazing ($0 every month), they give away door prizes that are relevant (not dollar store junk that companies didn’t want), you learn about industry-relevant things; but the best part is the people. This is definitely the best bang for your buck if you want to hook up and learn a thing or two and meet up with people who are as passionate about software as you are.
 
Keep up the good work and here’s to a successful second year!
Leave a Reply

